Indonesia’s Department of Tourism produced a short, compelling video to promote Bunaken National Park. I shall make a definite plan to go there soon.

Manado, the capital city of North Sulawesi, has always been on my bucket list. It’s expensive to fly there but my mother makes a point of regularly visiting and eating abundance of fresh seafood. She doesn’t know how to swim, so she has constantly asked me to go with her. She wants me to, in her stead, witness the wonders of Bunaken National Park, a stunning underwater park lavished with live coral reefs and tropical sea creatures. 

I was born and raised in Indonesia but I didn’t get to travel much outside the Island of Java. I was too young to travel alone and my parents were busy working. I did plenty of sightseeing, however, my grandparents often took me, my siblings, and cousins to a nearby mountain or white sand beaches. Some of those beaches, if they were remote enough, would have live coral reefs near the shoreline. I was maybe eight or nine when my grandpa took us to a secluded beach; there I saw colorful tropical fish swimming around in shallow seawater. I didn’t even need goggles or get my head in the water. The seawater was crystal clear that I could see little creatures flitted around miniature coral reefs. (Maybe near the shore the lack of depth and the profusion of movements limit the reefs’ formation?) Going to the beach has never been the same since then. I hope my future trip to Bunaken National Park would exceed my childhood memories of the gratifying tropical beaches.

