I’m currently practicing my design skills.

I learned from Evie Shaffer that a creative should not be limited by her tools. She stated that “there is no direct correlation between creativity and equipment ownership.” In fact, check out this quote by G.K. Chesterton:

“Art is limitation; the essence of every picture is the frame. If you draw a giraffe, you must draw him with a long neck. If in your bold creative way you hold yourself free to draw a giraffe with a short neck, you will really find that you are not free to draw a giraffe.” 

Evie also talked about Emily Dickinson who mostly wrote her poems on an 18-by-18 inches desk and Van Gogh who only used 6 colors on his palette, painting most of his artwork in the span of a short 3 years.

Sean Wes sketched some notes from the conference that I thought were quite inspiring both in content and design.

Circles Conference 2012 Notes

I think these sketched notes are tremendously helpful to me. Well, that being said, I’m originally just an avid blogger. Most of the time though I’d have to “steal” others’ graphics or photography for my blog post, but of course, I’d also give them credits for it.

So I downloaded Art Text 2 Lite and GIMP (Both are FREE! GIMP is a free alternative for Adobe Photoshop. Are you starting to see some pattern here?) Then I began to illustrate for my own blog posts at my other blog, Simply Katherine.

Okay, don’t judge me but here are my work so far:

Lovers
Very simple technique using Art Text Lite’s template. I love the mirroring effect of the two different texts.
The Truth
Also using mirroring effect from Art Text Lite, combined with a background. I used the layer feature on GIMP.
MVP
I started to play around more with other Art Text Lite features. The selections for geometry and typography of the Lite version are quite impressive.

That’s all for now from me! Hopefully more to come!

