So here is the continuation of my travel itinerary or journal in Singapore.

Wednesday: It was my first time visiting Universal Studios. In Singapore, they were having the premiere of a new ride called “Transformers The Ride: The Ultimate 3D Battle.” I was not into rides but somehow we ended up spending about 7 hours there.

The Universal Studios in Singapore is actually quite small. It consists of 7 zones: New York, Sci-Fi City, Ancient Egypt, The Lost World, Far Far Away, Madagascar, and Hollywood. With their Jurassic Park Rapids Adventure under repair, there were actually quite few fun rides. Well, I guess Transformers 3-D made up the lack (my siblings said the ride was similar to the Spiderman 3D in Universal Studios in Orlando).

Our highlights included:

Lights! Camera! Action! Hosted by Steven Spielberg (New York),  

Transformers The Ride: The Ultimate 3D Battle (Sci-fi City),

Battlestar Galactica: Human vs. Cylon (Sci-fi City),

Revenge of the Mummy (Ancient Egypt),

Shrek 4-D Adventure (Far Far Away),

and that’s about it!

In the middle of waiting in line for one of the rides, my brother had to go to the bank to take care of some business. So he left us to go to Orchard Road. We went to two or three more rides until he came back to join us again for some B-Boys show, called The Rockafellas (New York).

I guess my favorite part of the day was our hangout time at the Food Republic in VivoCity. I highly recommend their nasi lemak. Po had been craving nasi lemak for several days so she was so happy that she finally got to eat it that night. Nasi Lemak is a traditional Malay dish. It’s made of a scoop of rice on a banana leaf and then you can add different toppings, e.g. fried egg, fried fish, ikan bilis, fried chicken, vegetables, etc.

Nasi Lemak Singapore
Nasi Lemak

I also ordered a soup called “Four Treasures Beef Soup.” I didn’t know that the four treasures meant different parts of the cow added into the soup. I think they were tendons, tripes, and shanks. The broth was extremely heavy that I could hardly swallow it. The soup was good but too loaded for me.

My brother wanted to order fish balls soup, so I went to buy some for him while he was working on his dolsot bibimbap. I had to admit the fish balls soup was very light yet satisfying.

That was the end of the day. My feet were super sore afterward.