I somewhat re-defined content optimization in my last post. Yet it’s quite interesting how when you search for the keywords “content optimization” on search engines, most likely you’ll be led to “how to SEO” articles. So I can safely assume that according to popular belief, content optimization is a natural part of search engine optimization.

In my intensive study, I came across Brian Clark’s “How to Create Compelling Content that Ranks Well in Search Engines.” It’s a free pdf report that you can download from Copyblogger. Talking about motive though, this report is written to advertise Copyblogger’s software, Scribe. Just as a side note, I subscribed to Scribe for about 2 weeks (it has a 30-day free trial period) and decided that it was a rather simple SEO tool that would probably be good for beginners. Honestly, I have some doubts in the simplicity and rigidity of its algorithms. How should I say this? Okay, well, I think Scribe does a fair job in getting the basics down but the ever-eloping search engine algorithms are just way too slippery to lock on.

So back to Clark’s report, regardless of the motive behind it, I think Clark hits the bull’s eye on content optimization. Honestly, my purpose to put down a “versus” between content optimization and search engine optimization is not to completely divorce the two.  I’m not a heroic idealist in this matter, I’m just a pragmatic realist. I’m in agreement with Clark’s remark that SEO is the “last mile” to targeted search rankings. It’s not the first, but it’s crucial enough to be the last, to tie up loose ends.

“What people say about you is more important than what you say about yourself.”

– Brian Clark, Founder of Copyblogger & Scribe

I think it boils down to reputation building. Clark’s words are simple common sense. He further adds that social networking is key.

In my experience, I’m quite bitter about it but it’s true, content is king but search engines are too “human”.

Sorry for getting a little philosophical here but even in today’s society, your talent cannot get recognized without the appropriate publication and connections.

At times I would search for something very specific online but the results that I got from the search engines were rather disappointing. I thought to myself, that wasn’t right. In the sea of online information, there must be a good content out there that would actually help me but they were invisible on the first few pages of the search results (I usually don’t bother digging passed the first two pages).

I’ll continue on my next post with the reason why I think those good content are not up there, and hopefully come up with solid examples. Also I want to be honest with you that readers seem to like some sort of a list to get all my points together, but this is my dilemma – I don’t want to fall into writing a mere “how to SEO” article. We’ll see.

